Royal Hashemite Sultanate of Sulu and all Its Dominion

About us


The Royal Kingdom of Sulu was founded by King Baguinda of the Tausugs in 1390, in Jolo, Sulu, from the remnants of the old Great Tausug kingdom of Butuan in Central Mindanao that rose to prominence in Mindanao at the beginning of the 11th century. It signed a Treaty with China during the 12th century and this first Tausug kingdom lasted up to the end of the 14th century but fell due to the depletion and collapse of their commerce and trade. King Baguinda was the brother of the last King of the Tausug Kingdom of Butuan.

The Tausug royalty of Butuan with families migrated to Sulu where they settled and founded their sovereign Tausug kingdom in 1390, that became the Sultanate of Sulu in 1457. Later it became known as “The Unconquered Kingdom” of original Filipinos because they never surrendered to the Spanish conquest for over 377 years (1521 to 1898) of Muslim Philippines by the King of Spain and the Inquisition.

The Muslims today only occupied a tiny portion of Mindanao, from the lands before the Spaniards arrived in the Philippines.

Luzon, Palawan, and Borneo were ruled by the Brunei Sultan while Visayas and Mindanao ruled by the Sultan of Sulu --  the Sultanates of Maguindanao and Buayan, which became 2 distinct Sultanates in Mindanao. Today, these are the 3 Sultanates in the Philippines: Sulu, Maguindanao, and Buayan.

In 1390, the Kingdom of Sulu became a sovereign kingdom nation-state and in 1417 signed the Most Favored Nation Treaty with China. Continued as from 1457 as a sovereign Sultanate (Islamic Kingdom) patterned after the Islamic sultanates in the Middle East. The meaning of Sultanate is: "A monarchial sovereign state ruled by the Sultan whose powers are derived from Islamic faith, customs, traditions, and practices.

In 1457, the Royal Sultanate of Sulu was the very first in the whole world that installed the "Tri-partite Form of Government;" with the Sultan (Islamic King) as the Head of State, the Ruma Bichara as Congress or Legislature, and the Supreme Qadi as the Islamic Supreme Court.

From 1390 to 1946 through the Sultanate of Sulu was annexed to the newly created Republic of the Philippines without consent from the Sultan and the Tausug people, the Kingdom of Sulu was a sovereign kingdom nation-state was the envy of the world because of its very strong economy, peace and order secured under the reign of the Sultan.

The Sultan of Sulu sent His more than 2,500 Royal Tausug Army Expeditionary Force that imposed peace in Borneo. The Brunei Sultan as a sign of gratitude granted as gifts eternal and ceded to the Sulu Crown the islands of Palawan that made these three (3) dominions properties of Sulu Sultan. These gifts from the Sultan of Brunei to the Sulu Crown made possible the ownership of the Sulu Sultan of the lands of Sabah and Palawan.

The Tausugs of the Royal Sultanate fought for freedom for years.

On July 4, 1946, the USA added and annexed the Royal Sultanate of Sulu without referendum or plebiscite to the newly created independent Republic of the Philippines and it became a part of the Philippines as from 1946 to this day. This annexation breached the Charter of the United Nations created in 1945 in San Francisco.

As a sovereign kingdom nation state for centuries recognized by other nations The Royal Sultanate of Sulu signed most favored nation treaties with foreign powers i.e. China, UK, Spain, Portugal, Holland, France, Malayan sultanates, Royal Sultanate of Brunei, Indonesian principalities, USA (two treaties), plus other kingdoms in Southeast Asia and had unbroken exchanges of diplomatic relations with these nations and kingdoms for centuries.


 Our history went through a lot of stories to tell...   Today, we only think of tomorrow and the future of our sovereignty.   

Our people have a lot of cultural heritage to share and t
o love. Our mission is to live in Peace and Harmony